Autobiz Information
Advertise with us
About Autobiz
Contact Us
Automotive Training
Technical Helpline
Featured Products
Search For Parts
Print Edition Print Edition
Magazine Deadline
Display adverts: Wed 13th September
Subscribers entries: Wed 20th September
Leaflet distribution: Fri 22nd September
Article Search
Keyword Search:
All words
Any of the words
Exact phrase
News by Category
All News (7708)
Aftermartket (3246)
Bodyshop (1671)
Garage (3108)
Recovery (249)
Dealer (1704)
Sam Moffett seals National Rally Championship
  Sam Moffett & Karl Atkinson in action in Sligo  
Sam Moffett & Karl Atkinson in action in Sligo
Tuesday, July 11, 2017

With his sixth victory in as many events, the latest on the FAAC Simply automatic/Sligo Park Hotel Rally, Monaghan’s Sam Moffett clinched the Triton Showers National Rally Championship in style.

Co-driven by Cork’s Karl Atkinson, twenty-seven year old Moffett in the Fiesta R5 finished a minute and 35.6 seconds clear of the Skoda Fabia R5 of  Desi Henry and Liam Moynihan.  Former triple champion Niall Maguire (Subaru WRC) and his co-driver Enda Sherry were a minute and 22.2 seconds further behind in third.

In the Motorsport Safety Group N category, Shane Maguire (Mitsubishi) held a 5.4 second advantage over title rival David Guest, who made tyre choice that was far too brave and paid the consequences with an overshoot.

Monaghan’s Mickey Conlon (Escort) won the modified category and also netted the Triton Showers Drive of the Day award.

Meanwhile, the Junior event was won by Monaghan’s Jonny Treanor (Honda Civic), who finished over a minute ahead of the Toyota Starlet of Armagh’s Jason Black with series leader Meath’s Brian Brady (Honda Civic) third.

1. Sam. Moffett/Karl. Atkinson (Ford Fiesta WRC)
2. Desi. Henry/Liam. Moynihan (Skoda Fabia R5)
3. Niall. Maguire/Enda. Sherry (Subaru WRC)
4. Josh. Moffett/James. Fulton (Ford Fiesta R5)
5. Roy. White/James. O'Brien (Ford Fiesta WRC)

Categories:  Aftermarket > Garage > Dealer